Author Topic: HEY GUYS FREE LAPTOP  (Read 8043 times)

K-Mann

HEY GUYS FREE LAPTOP
« on: October 01, 2009, 05:07:03 PM »
For me.

Now that I have your attention, HELP ME OUT.

The laptop is my moms old one, and I'm going to reformat the thing. Once everything is completely blown away, what should I load it up with? An opinion thread, if you will. I was thinking Ubuntu because I've always wanted to try it, I've never used anything linux before, so I though Ubuntu would be a good way to get started. once I have the OS and everything, I'll take the time to learn it and linux and so on. I also thought XP but I'm not sure. Its what she had on there before, and it would be nice to have a windows laptop with me.

So what do you think? I'm kind of leaning towards Ubuntu. If I chose it would someone like to teach me in some sort of messenger?

Also I'm not exactly sure what the specs of it are, all I know is that it has 2 gigs of ram, because she came online one day and was all happy and excited that she upgraded the RAM.

Thanks

Sneaky

• Windows 8 Knowledge Base
  • Where I come from they call it the Hibbity Dibbity
    • View Profile
Re: HEY GUYS FREE LAPTOP
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2009, 05:11:24 PM »
Ubuntu is definitely more of a plug and play linux than others.. fedora is okay as well. You may not see any particular advantage to it in terms of performance, because you have to install shit so damn anally with packages and admin roots and bullshit like that.  If you want to toy around with it and learn something new, I would suggest loading XP on it first on a blank slate format, then use a partitioning software (Acronis Disk Director is my fave.), and install ubuntu/whatever on the 2nd partition.  Using linux as your main go-to would be a mistake in my book, unless you're like spec or boobies and know exactly what's goin on and how to fix what you will break.

have fun with your new toy
I wish that cake was a lie. :(