Author Topic: SLI PSA  (Read 3316 times)

Spectere

• \m/ (-_-) \m/
  • Administrator
  • printf("%s\n", "Hi!");
    • View Profile
    • spectere.net
SLI PSA
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:33:47 PM »
Just thought I'd share an issue that I ran into recently, just in case anyone out there has, or is planning, to put together an SLI build.

(tl;dr summary at the bottom of the post)

So I was playing Sniper Elite 4 when I noticed that I was getting some weird microstutter in certain situations. It only seemed to happen on maps with a lot of physics objects (namely, corpses). It was generally okay until I started playing survival, when the game literally became unplayable at around wave 5-6. Despite everything, I was still pushing over 60fps.

The day after that disastrous run I fired up Afterburner to see what was going on. Since the issue occurred regardless of the resolution and detail settings that I used, my original theory is that my 5-year-old i7-3770 was getting taxed, but that was quickly shot down when I realized that the game wasn't even utilizing 50% of each thread.

However, as I realized how many frames were being pushed I realized that there is a serious omission to SE4's display options: a framerate cap. There is vsync, but that typically introduces noticeable input lag for me, so I avoid using it. Sure enough, I went into the training range and my cards were pushing as many frames as they can, with 100% utilization on both boards. What's worse is that it uses AFR, or alternate frame rendering. That means that GPU #0 renders one frame, GPU #1 renders the second, GPU #0 renders the third, and so on. Now, the training range ran smoothly, but with the framerate being uncapped, and both boards effectively taking turns at rendering frames caused me to come up with a theory.