Author Topic: New Motherboard will require a format?  (Read 4611 times)

Zephlar

• Banned
  • Genuine Bullshitter
    • View Profile
    • Ranalli Photography & Design, LLC
New Motherboard will require a format?
« on: January 28, 2020, 01:45:35 PM »
Long story short I have new parts and am getting ready to build a new gaming PC. My original plan was to upgrade the parts (and MOBO) in my wife's PC, and use her old parts on the new case I have.

I have never done a MOBO swap like this before so I did some reading and honestly I'm not totally clear if it's possible to replace the MOBO without losing everything.

Her old MOBO doesn't even support DDR4 I don't have the model info in front of me. This is the new MOBO I bought.

Regardless Spectere I figured you could probably dumb this down enough for me to understand the risks etc.

Spectere

• \m/ (-_-) \m/
  • Administrator
  • printf("%s\n", "Hi!");
    • View Profile
    • spectere.net
Re: New Motherboard will require a format?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2020, 08:33:19 AM »
Nah, nowadays you can swap with reckless abandon without really running into any issues. Windows XP was a bit weird about it in certain circumstances (namely, swapping between single core and SMP—HyperThreaded/multicore/multi-CPU systems) but even that could accommodate swaps better than most people gave it credit for. Vista and newer are even better at handling that.

I can't really think of any risks, as Windows 10 will be able to fall back to generic drivers until the optimized platform-specific drivers get installed. The only driver I would download proactively is the Ethernet driver, since there's the possibility that the board might ship with a newer network card than what Windows directly supports. As long as you have Internet access Windows should be able to take care of the rest of it on its own. You should be able to snag that driver from MSI's site.