Author Topic: PHP Assistance Required  (Read 15299 times)

Sqthreer!

• It's hip to be sq3r.
    • View Profile
    • Sqthreer.com
PHP Assistance Required
« on: January 03, 2008, 07:54:46 PM »
I'm an absolute beginner at PHP, and I'm trying to finish up this stupid-ass website for someone I know so I don't have to bother with it anymore.

Here's the setup I've got right now:

I have an index.php file with three includes in it; one for the header, one for the main page content, and one for the footer, and that's it.

When you visit the site, the index file includes header.php, home.php and footer.php. A very basic situation indeed.

My question is this: how would I modify regular HTML links in order to get them to replace whatever page you're on with a new one?

Example: You're on the home page (home.php), and you click a link to go to the contact page (contact.php). I obviously can't just make the link to contact.php, otherwise it will only load that page, and not the header or footer. I only want to put contact.php where home.php is.

This is probably the simplest of simple questions, and I really just want the easiest way to do it because I seriously do not want to have this crappy project on my plate anymore. I'm not interested in restructuring the site (unless I fucked up somehow and I'd have to to make this work).

I don't know any PHP functions so that makes it kinda hard to search for a tutorial on such a thing.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 08:24:12 PM by Sqthreer! »
"Floors are a lot like walls."
 - Alexxx

Bobbias

• #1 Poster
  • 404 Avatar not found.
    • View Profile
    • Magnetic Architect
Re: PHP Assistance Required
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 08:00:40 PM »
What you do is send them back to index.php with a post action telling it to load contact.php