Author Topic: Moo is having some problems  (Read 6479 times)

MooMan1

• TEXT
    • View Profile
Moo is having some problems
« on: September 19, 2008, 03:58:12 PM »
I need a graphics card for my family Dell Dimension (what looks to be) B110, and I can't figure out what fits it. I don't know how to find the bus type (?) or whatnot of my motherboard, so I can't accurately get a card to fit. Can someone tell me how to find that information out? The slot looks to have (from the back of the computer to the ftont) ~50 pins, then a small gap, then 11 pins. It's a Celeron D processor, if that helps. I'm new to computer hardware, so any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Now, to jackhammer the F5 button like it will save my life.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 04:02:52 PM by MooMan1 »

Bobbias

• #1 Poster
  • 404 Avatar not found.
    • View Profile
    • Magnetic Architect
Re: Moo is having some problems
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2008, 04:33:58 PM »
From my rather limited googling, it sounds like you're practically fucked from the start. No AGP or PCI-E, which limits you to regular PCI (IE: WAY outdated), and some somewhat limited and difficult to find video cards: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1005350
This is going in my sig. :)

BANNED FOR BAD PUNS X_x

Spectere

• \m/ (-_-) \m/
  • Administrator
  • printf("%s\n", "Hi!");
    • View Profile
    • spectere.net
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2008, 05:51:21 PM »
This is about the best you can get as far as NVIDIA goes: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814139033.  I'm not even sure how to read ATI's naming scheme, so I'm not sure if they have something better.

It's not going to be ideal.  You'll probably be able to run games up to about 2005-ish without a problem, but it's definitely going to choke on newer stuff.

Saving up for a new system would be your best bet.
"This is a machine for making cows."

MooMan1

• TEXT
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2008, 04:43:16 PM »